Kids’ safety key worry in Fukushima

Image

A 50-year-old woman living in Koriyama, Fukushima Prefecture, told The Japan Times after the public hearing that she fears young people will be harmed by the radiation, and that discrimination against Fukushima residents will continue.

“I’ve tried to prepare myself mentally for the discrimination my son may face when he looks for a job or when he gets married, just because he was in Fukushima last March,” said the woman, who withheld her name.

http://www.japantimes.co.jp/text/nn20120803a2.html

It is troubling to hear that victims of Fukushima admit to the fact that being socially-ostracized for nothing more than being a victim of a disaster (and further exacerbated by criminal negligence and deceit) is to be expected. Thus, its easy to fall into a self-defeating sense of depression, however, when you hear statements such as this it reaffirms Man’s resilient nature:

She even went to Tokyo to join a rally in Yoyogi Park last month.

“I wanted to show that Fukushima people are angry, too, not just Tokyo residents,” she said. “I felt participating in a rally is different from just typing the sentence ‘I’m antinuke’ on the Internet.”

She said she never imagined she would participate in such demonstrations because of their past leftwing trappings. “But look at me now. I never thought I would join a rally at the age of 50.”

Here is a very good perspective of how the situation has been unfolding during Wednesday’s (seldom covered by the media) protest in Tokyo.

http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/24393670